Loading Events
This event has passed.


Open through April 27
Art Intersection
(480) 361-1118
207 N Gilbert Rd # 210, Gilbert, AZ, 85234

Exhibitions, Darkroom

Light Sensitive 2019 Exhibition

A Juried Exhibition Celebrating Images from the Darkroom

Internationally acknowledged as a signature exhibition for this art genre, Light Sensitive presents artwork created using traditional darkroom and alternative photographic processes and methods.

With the current trend of imagery presented on computer screens and the overwhelming volume of digitally generated prints, Light Sensitive serves to reaffirm and promote the art of handcrafted prints uniquely belonging to the tradition of light sensitive creative processes.

Work in this year’s exhibition comes from national and international artists, and includes processes of cyanotype, gelatin silver, lumen, gum bichromate, tintype, chromogenic, mordançage, carbon, ziatype, and more. 

As our juror this year we are honored to have Christopher James, University Professor and Director of the MFA program in Photography and Integrated Media at Lesley University, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Award Winners for Light Sensitive
First place: Diana Bloomfield, “Handmade Artist Book (Piano Hinge), details from ‘The Old Garden’ series”
Second place: Anne Eder, “16 Mini Monster Family Portraits”
Third place: Michelle Rogers, “The Hum of Bees, Edition (2/10)”
Honorable Mention: Ryan Shelley, “AZ” 
Honorable Mention: Rebecca Zeiss, “Lacemaker V”
Honorable Mention: Rebecca Hackemann, “The Sound”
Honorable Mention: Aldis Strazdins, “Maurloku Kolekcija Nr. 20392 (Chive Collection No. 20392)”

About the Juror

Christopher James is an internationally known artist and photographer whose photographs, paintings, and alternative process printmaking have been exhibited in galleries and museums in this country and abroad. 

All three editions of his book, The Book of Alternative Photographic Processes, have received international critical acclaim and are universally recognized by artists, curators, historians, and educators as the definitive text in the genre of alternative process photography and photographically integrated media. A significantly expanded 900 page / 700 image, 3rd edition was published in 2015.

Christopher, after 13 years at Harvard University, is presently University Professor and Director of the MFA in Photography and Integrated Media program at Lesley University College of Art and Design in Cambridge, MA. He received his undergraduate degree from Massachusetts College of Art and his masters from the Rhode Island School of Design. He is also a painter, graphic designer, author, and a professional scuba diver. Christopher offers individually customized alternative process workshops and portfolio consultations in his Dublin, NH studio. Christopher’s web site is www.christopherjames-studio.com

Images in Light Sensitive 2019

Featured Artists

Gwen Arkin, Emma Bang, Carol Chase Bjerke, Diana Bloomfield, Katie Burianek, Cathy Cakebread, Patrick Carr, Tony Celentano, Monika Cichoszewska, Lexi Coburn, Dennis L. Collins, Wendy Constantine, Kylie Isbell Daniels, Kaitlyn Danielson, Adam Donnelly, Barbara Eberhard, Anne Eder, Christine Federici, Jim Fitzgerald, William W.Fuller, László Gálos, Valentina González Henao, Katherine Goodwin, Hal Gould, Rebecca Hackemann, Jessica Hays, Geoffrey Hicks, Michael C. Hughes, Jeannie Hutchins, John Isner, Stewart Jack, Amy Kanka Valadarsky, Paul Karabinis, Annie Lopez, Luigi Luccarelli, Jonathan Marquis, Lloyd Matthews, Maegan McCarthy, Davey Leo Miller, David Miller, Mariusz Mykicki, Eva Nikolova, Elizabeth Burger Overall, Tatiana Padgett, Robertson Parkman, Elizabeth Z. Pineda, Roy Pope, Sarah E. Robinson, Michelle Rogers Pritzl, Jenny Sampson, Dar San Agustin, Silvia Saponaro, B Saragosa, Lynne Senzek, S H E L L E Y, Kirby Soderberg, Brett Starr, Barbara D. Stathakopouos, Aldis Strazdins, Gerardo Stübing, J.E.Syme, Audrey Szoke, Randall Tosh, Shari Trennert, Michael Trupiano, Fred Ullrich, John Wagner, Michael Weitzman, Jennifer Williamson, Kelly Wrage, Zanereti, Rebecca Zeiss, Yelena Zhavoronkova, Ryan Zoghlin

Header image credit: Gwen Arkin

« Back to Events
iCal Import + Google Calendar